DEC 10 / 8:00 PM




The Kodaly Quartet was founded in 1966 by four students of the Franz Liszt Academy in Budapest and it belongs to the worldwide celebrated quartets. From the very beginning the quartet was very successful and received already in the founding year the outstanding degree by the jury of the International Quartet Competition which took place in Geneva.

The name of this internationally renowned quartet was dedicated in honor of the outstanding twentieth-century Hungarian composer Zoltan Kodaly by the Hungarian Ministry of Culture and Education due to the quartet's exceptional position. Therefore the Kodaly Quartet has set as its main objective the authentic interpretation of the works of Zoltan Kodaly, and gives tremendous importance to the values and traditions that Kodaly conceived as essential in musical culture. Alike Zoltan Kodaly the Kodaly Quartet regards himself as a kind of link which broadcasts Hungary folk music to people in the whole world. Guest concert invitations took the quartet not only to the leading concert halls in Europe but also to India, China, Japan, Australia, New Zealand as well as to South-, Central- and North America. Based on the extraordinary quality the quartet was awarded many prizes and received excellent press reviews over the decades. In the meantime the Kodaly Quartet has recorded more than 60 CDs including the complete string quartets of Beethoven, Haydn and Schubert. Further on the BBC awarded the Kodaly Quartet's recording of Mendelssohn and Bruch octets as the Best Chamber Music Recording of the Year. The magazine Classic CD rated the recording of Haydn’s op. 64 as best Chamber Music recording and the sixth part of Beethoven’s complete string quartet recording was the recommendation of the month by the BBC-music magazine. In this context the Kodaly Quartet worked together amongst others with MiklOs Perenyi, Jeremy Menuhin and Dimitri Ashkenazy.

Additionally the Kodaly Quartet performed world premieres by contemporary composers such as the Hungarian Emil Petrovics or the meanwhile deceased Gottfried von Einem.

In the frame of its 50-year jubilee the Kodaly Quartet goes on a grand world-tour in the concert season 2016/2017 and the quartet will play guest performances in the major concert halls. Examples are the renowned National Centre for the Performing Arts in Beijing and the Shanghai Symphony Hall. The Kodaly Quartet recently has been awarded with the most important cultural prize in Hungary, the Art of Hungary Prize.



Sergej Rachmaninov (1873-1943): String Quartet No. 1

  1.  Romance
  2. Scherzo


Zoltán Kodály (1882-1967): String Quartet No. 2, Op. 10                   

  1.  Allegro
  2. Andante. Quasi recitative

III. Allegro giocoso


Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904): String Quartet in E flat major, Op. 51

  1.  Allegro ma non troppo
  2. Dumka (Elegia): Andante con moto/Vivace

III. Romanza: Andante con moto

  1. Allegro Assai